Revolver Gurus Pls check out my forcing cone

Bluez

Full Access Member
100_1444.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

100_1437.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Have about 3000-5000 rounds thru this GP100, 4.2 inch in stainless.
All were the hotter factory loads , mostly Fiocchi 142 gr.

Havent shot this gun in at least a year (been focusing on AR15 +just got it out of storage)but I seem to remember it was accurate when fired last.
Lock-up is still good too.

There is very little flame cutting and revolver does not spit as far as I noticed..
But I am seeing some forcing cone erosion.
Is it an issue?
Should I find a gunsmith?

Please look at the pics and comment...

PS: Never noticed this before... and I am usually fairly detail oriented on Firearms ..

Last edited:

SilvrSRT10

Super Moderator
I would consult a gun smith. My thought is if the erosion continues it will eventually open up the gap between the cylinder and barrel. Which will reduce velocity etc. of the gun. But I'm not an expert. They may tell you it's perfectly normal or when the gap does get too wide it's time to change the barrel. Keep us informed with what you find out.

Bluez

Full Access Member
I took it to my LGS today and their Revolver guy looked at it ( whom I know and like)
he said "its fine".
But he dindt use a magnifying glass and light to make that pronouncement which IMO is necessary to see the damage.

Also I looked at a lot of other erosion pics on the net and its the worst I see on google images thats not cracked.

Last edited:

SilvrSRT10

Super Moderator
I'm guessing the LGS guy didn't address your concern sufficiently. Have you ever used an oxy acetylene torch. It uses heat and air pressure to melt metal. That's what the end of your barrel reminds me of in miniature. I wonder if the high pressure loads have accelerated wear. It's something to keep an eye on.

Bluez

Full Access Member
Update.

Sent the pics to Ruger this morning.
By the afternoon they had replied and asked me ot send it in to them.

Bluez